如何選擇恆壓LED電源驅動與恆流LED電源驅動

何謂恆壓(CV)與恆流(CC)?

  • 恆壓:

穩壓電路中輸出的電壓是固定的,輸出的電流卻隨著負載的增減而變化。若以穩壓驅動電路驅動LED,每串LED需要加上合適的電阻,方可使每串LED顯示亮度平均。

  • 恆流:

恆流驅動電路輸出的電流是恆定的,輸出的直流電壓卻隨著負載阻值的大小不同,在一定範圍內變化。負載阻值小,輸出電壓就低;負載阻值越大,輸出電壓也就越高。選擇恆流電源驅動時,應注意最大承受電流及電壓值,會限制LED的使用數量。

該選擇恆壓還是恆流LED電源驅動來搭配LED燈盤?

  • 適合選用恆壓電源驅動之情形:

LED燈需用固定輸入電壓,且燈盤內置電阻或定電流驅動限定電流流量範圍者可選用恆壓LED電源驅動。恆壓電源驅動的設計與安裝較為人熟知,在設計控制電路上亦較為簡單。LED的發光原理是電流激發光子以產生光。因此,電流越大轉換效率越高,LED光越亮,但電流過大時,容易造成燈具損壞,降低燈具的使用壽命。恆壓LED電源驅動適合需要大規模照明情形,但因亮度調整的一致性較差,在需要高度照明光線的場所相對不適用。

  • 適合選用恆壓電源驅動之情形:

LED燈如需固定的輸出電流與特定範圍的電壓來驅動時,可選擇恆流LED電源驅動。恆流電源驅動的優點在於可穩定有效的控制光線亮度,在調整光線明暗上具一致性,可使燈具長時間保持在最佳照明狀態。燈盤控制電路設計較為複雜,但因恆流電源驅動輸出的電流固定,可避免電流過大造成升溫而導致燈具損壞之情形,以延長燈具使用壽命。

恆壓LED電源驅動與恆流LED電源驅動之比較


參考來源:https://www.ledinside.com.tw/knowledge/20110905-16801.html
參考來源 : https://www.arrow.com/en/research-and-events/articles/product-roundup-led-power-supply
參考來源 : https://www.ys-led-driver.com.tw/products.php?index=199&c1=34&c2=87
參考來源 : https://www.ledsupply.com/blog/constant-current-led-drivers-vs-constant-voltage-led-drivers/

How to Choose Constant Voltage LED Driver and Constant Current LED Driver?

person using black laptop computer on brown wooden table

What is constant voltage(CV) and constant current(CC) ?

  • Constant Voltage:

The rated parameters of the constant voltage circuit are determined, the output voltage is fixed, and the output current change based on the load. When using constant voltage LED driver for LED lights, each string of LEDs need to equipped appropriate resistor to make the brightness of each string is average.

  • Constant Current:

The output current of constant current circuit are fixed, and the output voltage will change based on the load. When choosing constant current driver, please pay attention to the maximum output current and voltage, it will limit the quantity of LEDs which the driver could work with.

How to choose constant voltage LED driver and constant current LED driver?

  • Under below situation, you could choose constant voltage LED driver:

When the LED lights need fixed output voltage and have built-in resistor or constant current circuit to limit the current range, you could choose constant voltage LED driver. It is relatively simple to design the whole control circuit of LED lighting because the circuit design and installation of constant voltage LED driver is well known. Electric current excite photon make the LED light, so the higher the current is, make the better conversion efficiency. However, if the current is too high, it will damage the fixture and shorten the service life. Constant voltage circuit is more suitable for large scale lighting situation, but it is less appropriate for highly illuminated situation, since the ability of constant voltage LED driver to adjust brightness consistency is relatively worse.

  • Under below situation, you could choose constant current LED driver:

When the LED lights need fixed output current and specific range voltage, you could choose constant current LED driver. The advantage of constant current LED drive is that the brightness can be controlled steadily and effectively, and it has consistency in adjusting the brightness of the light make the lamp remains in the best lighting state for a long time. The output current is fixed, it could prevent fixture from damaged by temperature rising which caused by too high current and it could extend the service life of fixture. However, the lighting circuit design is more complexity then constant voltage lighting circuit.

The comparison of constant voltage LED driver and constant current LED driver


Reference:https://www.ledinside.com.tw/knowledge/20110905-16801.html
Reference : https://www.arrow.com/en/research-and-events/articles/product-roundup-led-power-supply
Reference : https://www.ys-led-driver.com.tw/products.php?index=199&c1=34&c2=87
Reference : https://www.ledsupply.com/blog/constant-current-led-drivers-vs-constant-voltage-led-drivers/